Trophée des Champions: The records

Trophée des Champions

As we ramp up towards Saturday's gala season 2016-17 curtain-raiser between Paris Saint-Germain and Olympique Lyonnais, check out the records that Paris Saint-Germain and Olympique Lyonnais could be looking to break.

Biggest crowd 57,000 spectators - OM-PSG in 2010 at the Stade de Radès (Tunisia). Since the move was made to stage the competition outside of France, the Trophé des champions has averaged crowds of 38,000.

1 Newly signed Paris Saint-Germain forward Hatem Ben Arfa holds the record for the fastest goal in the competition, having found the back of the net for Olympique Lyonnais in the first minute of the 2005 edition.

3 Three players have scored hat-tricks in the Trophée des Champions: Sidney Govou in 2002 with OL against FC Lorient; John Carew with OL in 2005 against AJ Auxerre; and André Ayew for OM against LOSC in 2011. One player, Mickaël Landreau, has represented three different clubs in the Trophée des Champions (FC Nantes, Paris Saint-Germain and LOSC).

4 The most prolific scorer in the history of the Trophée des Champions is Sidney Govou, who has scored four times in two matches.

4 When he scored just four minutes after coming on as a substitute in 2002, Peguy Luyindula (OL) became the quickest-scoring sub in TDC history, a feat that Hervin Ongenda (PSG)came close to matching when he bagged one just eight minutes after coming off the bench in Gabon in 2013.

5 The only coach to have won the competition with two different clubs (Girondins de Bordeaux and PSG), Laurent Blanc is also the only coach to have won it five times, ahead of next-best candidate Paul Le Guen (three titles with OL).

5 With five TDC titles while playing for OL, Grégory Coupet is the player with the most wins in the competition.

6 In 20 seasons, the Trophée des Champions has had six different winners: Olympique Lyonnais, Paris Saint-Germain, AS Monaco, FC Nantes, FC Girondins de Bordeaux and Olympique de Marseille. With seven wins, OL hold the record, two lengths ahead of nearest rival PSG (five wins).

6 With six appearances, Grégory Coupet (five with OL and one with PSG) and Anthony Réveillère (six with OL) hold the record as the most familiar faces in the competition. The former France goalkeeper started in every one of those appearances. Should he play in Austria on Saturday, Hatem Ben Arfa will be taking part in his fifth TDC, but his first with PSG.

7 For the eighth time in a row, the Trophée des Champions ill be held outside France. After heading to Montreal last year, and after turns in Tunisia, Morocco, the USA, Gabon and China, the competition will this year be held for the first time in a European country other than France - Austria (Klagenfurt).

13 Inaugurated in 1995, the match pits the previous season's Ligue 1 champion against the reigning Coupe de France holder, with a 70% success rate for the league champions. On 14 occasions, including the last three, the French champions have won out. The cup winner has won on four occasions. And when the league champions also claim the cup - as was the case last season for the second year in a row - it is the league runner-up - who has won the competition on two occasions -who fills the slot.

15 PSG (ninth participation) and OL (tenth participation) are the two teams with the best attendance record of the 15 clubs to have taken part in the competition.

17 Olympique Lyonnais have the competition's best attacking record with 17 goals scored in nine matches thanks to Sidney Govou (4), John Carew (3), Vikash Dhorasoo, Peguy Luyindula, Michael Essien, Mahamadou Diarra, Elber, Hatem Ben Arfa, Karim Benzema, Cris, Bafétimbi Gomis and Jimmy Briand (1).

59 In the 20 Trophée des Chapions to date, 61 buts have been scored for an average of 3.05 goals per game. The 2011 edition was the most prolific, with nine goals scored in Olympique de Marseille's thrilling 5-4 win over LOSC. On three occasions, the winner has scored five or more goals. The first halves have seen more goals, with 32 strikes as opposed to 29 in the second halves, with the first 15 minutes the most prolific (13 goals).

76 Historically the team that scores first has a huge advantage in the Trophée des Champions, having gone on to win 70% of the time. Nonetheless, in the last nine editions - excluding matches that went to penalties when it was 0-0 after extra time - the side who scored first have fallen five times out of eight, as the Girondins did in 2013, as Paris became the first side to win after conceding the first goal.

261 In 2013 in Gabon, the Girondins de Bordeaux broke FC Nantes' clean-sheet record (197 minutes) in the Trophée des Champions, stretching their time without conceding to 261 minutes (after their wins ito nil in 2008 and 2009. That record is under threat from PSG, however, who can take the record if they go 30 minutes without conceding in Saturday's clash with OL.


>> NEWS - Emery: 'A huge challenge'

>> Trophée des Champions Roll of Honour

Your email has been successfully sent