Osimhen, Maja, Simon, Nigerians in Ligue 1

Osimhen, Simon, Maja & Ligue 1's Nigerians

Publish on 16/06/2020 at 12h42 - I. HOLYMAN


Lille star Victor Osimhen, Moses Simon of Nantes and Bordeaux duo Josh Maja and Samuel Kalu are the four Nigerians currently playing in France, and following in the footsteps of a huge number of compatriots who have graced Ligue 1 in the past.

Since 1986, 38 Nigerian players have worn the colours of a Ligue 1 club. The pioneer was Ricky Owubokiri, who arrived in France in summer 1986 from the Brazilian league. A Nigeria international, the striker played a season at Laval and then another campaign in Metz, scoring 18 times in 69 top-flight matches and helping the latter club win the Coupe de France.


He is not the only Nigerian to leave France with a medal. Samson Siasia helped Nantes win the league title in 1995, and Taribo West was part of the Auxerre championship-winning side a year later. Victor Ikpeba, who netted 55 goals in six seasons in Monaco, claimed the crown with the principality outfit in 1997.


Taye Taiwo was another Ligue 1 title winner with Marseille in 2009-10 under Didier Deschamps, and the left-back's blockbuster of a left foot made him an icon of the Stade Orange Vélodrome faithful.


All of the Ligue 1 Nigerians
Victor Osimhen (LOSC, depuis 2019)
Moses Simon (FC Nantes, depuis 2019)
Josh Maja (Girondins de Bordeaux, depuis 2019)
Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, 2019)

Samuel Kalu (Girondins de Bordeaux, depuis 2018)
Chidozie Awaziem (FC Nantes, 2017/2018)
Dickson Nwakaeme (Angers SCO, 2016/2017)
Vincent Enyeama (LOSC, 2011-2018)
Ejike Uzoenyi (Stade Rennais FC, 2012/13)
Ideye Brown (FC Sochaux-Montbéliard, 2010-2011)
Olubayo Adefemi (US Boulogne-sur-Mer, 2009/10)
Lukman Haruna (AS Monaco, 2008-2011)
Sani Kaita (AS Monaco, 2008)
Nduka Ozokwo (OGC Nice, 2007-2009)
Elderson Echiejile (Stade Rennais FC, AS Monaco, 2007-2010 et 2014-2016)
Simon Zenke (RC Strasbourg Alsace, AS Nancy-Lorraine, 2007/2008 et 2012/2013)
Onyekachi Apam (OGC Nice, Stade Rennais FC, 2006-2014)
Tosin Dosunmu (AS Nancy-Lorraine, 2006/2007)
Joseph Enakarhire (Girondins de Bordeaux, 2006/2007)
Rabiu Afolabi (FC Sochaux-Montbéliard, 2005-2009)
Edorisi Ekhosuehi (Le Mans FC, 2005/06)
Peter Odemwingie (LOSC, 2004-2007)
Taye Taiwo (OM, 2005-2011)
Kalu Uche (Girondins de Bordeaux, 2004/2005)
John Utaka (RC Lens, Stade Rennais FC, Montpellier HSC, 2002-2007 et 2011-2013)
Bartholomew Ogbeche (PSG, SC Bastia, FC Metz, 2001-2005)
Joseph Yobo (OM, 2001/2002)
Augustine 'Jay-Jay' Okocha (PSG, 1998-2002)
Egutu Oliseh (AS Nancy-Lorraine, 1998-2000)
Uche Agbo (Montpellier HSC, 1997/1998)
Victor Agali (OM, OGC Nice, 1996/1997 et 2004/2005)
Godwin Okpara (RC Strasbourg Alsace, PSG, 1996-2001)
Wilson Oruma (RC Lens, AS Nancy-Lorraine, FC Sochaux-Montbéliard, OM, 1994-1998, 2002-2008)
Victor Ikpeba (AS Monaco, 1993-1999)
Samson Siasia (FC Nantes, 1993-1995)
Taribo West (AJ Auxerre, 1993-1997)
Stephen Keshi (RC Strasbourg Alsace, 1992/1993)
Richard Owubokiri (Stade Lavallois, FC Metz, 1986-1988)


>> NEWS: Simon says 'Yes' to Nantes