Hexagoal Ligue 1 Trophy

Deschamps hands Maignan, Dubois maiden France calls

Publish on 21/05/2019 at 00:00 - S. WILLIS


France boss Didier Deschamps has included Ligue 1 Conforama's Mike Maignan (LOSC) and Léo Dubois (OL) in his 24-man squad for the friendly against Bolivia and Euro 2020 qualifiers against Turkey and Andorra in June.

Injuries and current form have led the World Cup-winning coach to make a number of changes to the squad that won the World Cup in Russia last year, and this opened the way for two Frenchmen plying their trade in Ligue 1 Conforama to receive maiden call-ups.

New faces

OL's Léo Dubois has been rewarded for an excellent season at OL, where he has made the right-back position his own, and joins the France squad with a good chance of pipping Benjamin Pavard to at least some game time.

Meanwhile LOSC's Mike Maignan, fresh from being crowned Ligue 1 Conforama Goalkeeper of the Season at Sunday's UNFP Trophies ceremony, has been inducted into the élite of France's glovesmen alongside number one Hugo Lloris and fellow Ligue 1 Conforama stalwarts Alphonse Areloa (PSG) and Benjamin Lecomte (Montpelier).

Injury to Paris Saint-Germain stopper Presnel Kimpembe paved the way for another maiden call-up, that of Barcelona's Clément Lenglet, while former Toulouse goal wizard Wissam Ben Yedder, now turning out for Sevilla, gets just a second call-up, in place of OL's Nabil Fekir.

The full squad

'Keepers: Alphonse Areola (PSG) - Hugo Lloris (Tottenham) - Benjamin Lecomte (Montpellier) - Mike Maignan (LOSC)

Defenders: Lucas Digne (Everton) - Léo Dubois (OL) - Clément Lenglet (Barcelona) - Ferland Mendy (OL) - Benjamin Pavard (VfB Stuttgart) - Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona) - Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid) - Kurt Zouma (Everton)

Midfielders: N'Golo Kanté (Chelsea) - Blaise Matuidi (Juventus) - Tanguy Ndombélé (OL) - Paul Pogba (Manchester United) - Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham)

Forwards: Wissam Ben Yedder (Sevilla) - Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich) - Olivier Giroud (Chelsea) - Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid) - Thomas Lemar (Atlético de Madrid) - Kylian Mbappé (PSG) - Florian Thauvin (OM)