PSG OM Kylian Mbappé

Top guns: Kylian Mbappé retains his throne

Publish on 08/05/2020 at 11:30


As was the case last season, Paris Saint-Germain striker Kylian Mbappé finished top scorer in Ligue 1 Conforama in 2019-20, his 18 goals in 20 appearances leaving him top of the heap. Check out the key stats...

Kylian Mbappé is not a sharer! Already crowned top scorer in Ligue 1 Conforama last season, the Paris Saint-Germain striker retained his title in 2019-20. The Paris Saint-Germain No7 came out ahead of Monaco's Wissam Ben Yedder - who also scored 18 goals - thanks to his having scored 18 times in open play, compared to 15 times for the deadly AS Monaco front man, who also scored three penalties. OL's Moussa Dembélé ended the season in this place with 16 goals.

Neymar, Di Maria dish it up

As has been his wont, Kylian Mbappé had an impressive 2019-20 season, this time scoring 18 times in 20 Ligue 1 Conforama matches (17 starts) - that's an average of once every 84 minutes. The France striker scored 14 of his goals with his right foot and four with his left, with 17 of his 18 goals scored from inside the box. In all competitions, the Parisian scored 30 goals in 33 matches in the truncated 2019-20 season.

In order to reach the 18-goal mark in the league, Kylian Mbappé was able to count on his two favourite suppliers - Neymar and Angel Di Maria - each of whom set him up for six goals. Other players who helped the Frenchman make his mark this season include Juan Bernat, Edinson Cavani, Thomas Meunier and Julian Draxler.

With fewer games on the scoreboard than last season (20 versus 29), KM7 scored less (18 versus 33) but also at a slightly lower rate (0.9 goals per game versus 1.14). On the other hand, he made progress in several other areas: more passes leading directly to a shot (2 per game compared to 1.6); more dribbles (2.8 per game compared to 2.2); and more precision in his passing (80.4% of passes completed compared to 79.3%).

In the footsteps of Cavani, Pauleta and Bianchi

Kylian Mbappé's second consecutive top-scorer title follows in the footsteps of team-mate Edinson Cavani, who also won the title in consecutive seasons in 2016-17 and 2017-18. However, this feat has not been achieved by a French player since Jean-Pierre Papin (OM), the 1990-91 and 1991-92 winner.

Since the 2012-13 season, the league's top scorer title has eluded a PSG player only once. That was in 2014-15, when Lyon's Alexandre Lacazette was crowned. For the Parisian side, Kylian Mbappe joins the club's twice-titled strikers Edinson Cavani, Pedro Miguel Pauleta and Carlos Bianchi. The Swede Zlatan Ibrahimovic, meanwhile, was top scorer three times in his four seasons in the capital.

>> The official 2019-20 Ligue 1 Conforama scorers chart

Every French Ligue 1 Conforama top scorer:

2019-20: Kylian Mbappé (PSG) 18 goals

2018-19: Kylian Mbappé (PSG) 33 goals

2014-1: Alexandre Lacazette (OL) 27 goals

2011-12: Olivier Giroud (Montpellier HSC) 21 goals

2008-09: André-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse FC) 24 goals

2007-08: Karim Benzema (OL) 20 goals

2003-04: Djibril Cissé (AJ Auxerre) 26 goals

2001-02 (season with 18 clubs): Djibril Cissé (AJ Auxerre) 22 goals

1998-99 (season with 18 clubs): Sylvain Wiltord (Girondins de Bordeaux) 22 goals

1997-98 (season with 18 clubs): Stéphane Guivarc'h (AJ Auxerre) 21 goals

1996-97: Stéphane Guivarc'h (Stade Rennais FC) 22 goals

1994-95: Patrice Loko (FC Nantes) 22 goals

1993-94: Youri Djorkaeff (AS Monaco), Roger Boli (RC Lens) and Nicolas Ouédec (FC Nantes) 20 goals

1991-92: Jean-Pierre Papin (OM) 27 goals

1990-91: Jean-Pierre Papin (OM) 23 goals

1989-90: Jean-Pierre Papin (OM) 30 goals

1988-89: Jean-Pierre Papin (OM) 22 goals

1987-88: Jean-Pierre Papin (OM) 19 goals

1986-87: Bernard Zénier (FC Metz) 18 goals

1983-84: Patrice Garande (AJ Auxerre) 21 goals

1969-70 (season with 18 clubs): Hervé Revelli (AS Saint-Etienne) 28 goals

1968-69 (season with 18 clubs): André Guy (OL) 25 goals

1967-68: Etienne Sansonetti (AC Ajaccio) 26 goals

1966-67: Hervé Revelli (AS Saint-Etienne) 31 goals

1965-66: Philippe Gondet (FC Nantes) 36 goals

1964-65 (season with 18 clubs): Jacky Simon (FC Nantes) 24 goals

1962-63: Serge Masnaghetti (US Valenciennes) 35 goals

1960-61: Roger Piantoni (Stade de Reims) 28 goals

1959-60: Just Fontaine (Stade de Reims) 28 goals

1958-59: Thadee Cisowski (Racing) 30 goals

1957-58 (season with 18 clubs): Just Fontaine (Stade de Reims) 34 goals

1956-57 (18 club-season): Thadée Cisowski (Racing) 33 goals

1955-56 (18 club-season): Thadée Cisowski (Racing) 31 goals

1954-55 (18 club-season): René Bliard (Stade de Reims) 30 goals

1953-54 (18 club-season): Edouard Kargu (Girondins de Bordeaux) 27 goals

1950-51 (18 club-season): Roger Piantoni (FC Nancy) and Jean Courteaux (OGC Nice) 27 goals

1949-50 (18 club-season): Jean Grumellon (Stade Rennais FC) 24 goals

1948-49 (18 club-season): Jean Baratte (LOSC) 26 goals

1947-48 (18 club-season): Jean Baratte (LOSC) 31 goals

1946-47: Pierre Sinibaldi (Stade de Reims) 33 goals

1945-46 (18 club-sseason): René Bihel (LOSC) 28 goals

1938-39: Roger Courtois (FC Sochaux-Montbéliard) and Désiré Koranyi (FC Sète) 27 goals

1937-38: Jean Nicolas (FC Rouen) 26 goals

1935-36: Roger Courtois (FC Sochaux-Montbéliard) 34 goals

1932-33: Robert Mercier (Club Français) 15 goals