Coupe de la ligue

Coupe de la Ligue BKT: Records and stats of the 25 Finals

Publish on 29/07/2020 at 12:00


As the final Coupe de la Ligue BKT Final looms on Friday, we take a look back at the records and stats from all the finals in the competition's 25-year history.

530 different players played a Final.

Record of titles for one player:

5: Edinson Cavani, Marquinhos, Thiago Silva, Marco Verratti, Lucas Moura, Javier Pastore and Adrien Rabiot (PSG, from 2014 to 2018).

Record titles for a coach :

4: Didier Deschamps (AS Monaco 1 and OM 3) and Laurent Blanc (Girondins de Bordeaux 1, PSG 3)

Goals: 61 goals (2.44 goals/Final)

Most goals scored by a club in a Final:

4 goals: AS Monaco (2003), Girondins de Bordeaux (2009) and Paris Saint-Germain (2015 and 2017).

Best attack in a Final:

1. PSG: 21 goals (2.3 goals/game)

2. Bordeaux: 11 goals (1.8 goals)

3. AS Monaco: 6 goals (1.5 goals)

4. OM: 5 goals (1.66 goals)

5. LO: 3 goals (0.6 goals)

Average attendance for the 25 Finals: 68,693 spectators

Total attendance for the 25 Finals: 1,717,337 spectators

45 different scorers in the Final

Top scorers in the Final:

1. Edinson Cavani (PSG), 8 goals

2. Angel Di Maria (PSG) and Pedro Miguel Pauleta (Bordeaux/PSG), 3 goals

4. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG), Brandao (OM/ASSE) and Ludovic Giuly (Monaco) 2 goals

12 winning clubs

The most successful clubs:

1. PSG: 8

2. OM, Girondins de Bordeaux and RC Strasbourg Alsace: 3

5. FC Metz, RC Lens, FC Gueugnon, Olympique Lyonnais, AS Monaco, FC Sochaux-Montbéliard, AS Nancy Lorraine, AS Saint-Etienne: 1

22 different finalists

Number of appearances in the Final:

1. Paris Saint-Germain: 10

2. Girondins de Bordeaux and Olympique Lyonnais: 6

4. AS Monaco: 4

5. RC Strasbourg Alsace and Olympique de Marseille: 3

7. RC Lens, SC Bastia, FC Metz and FC Sochaux-Montbéliard: 2

11. FC Gueugnon, AS Nancy Lorraine, AS Saint-Etienne, Vannes OC, FC Lorient, SM Caen, Montpellier HSC, OGC Nice, FC Nantes, Stade Rennais FC, LOSC and EA Guingamp: 1

61 goals scored in all the Finals (51 at Stade de France), including 26 in the first half, 31 in the second half and four in extra time.

40 goals were scored in open play, compared to 17 from set pieces and four from penalties.

There was only one 0-0 in 25 Finals.

The 25 Finals in stats

In the 25 Coupe de la Ligue BKT Finals, a total of 61 goals were scored, for an average of 2.44 goals per game.

With five goals in total, the 2017 Final in Lyon between PSG and AS Monaco (4-1) was the highest-scoring, tied with the 2003 Final, which saw AS Monaco beat FC Sochaux-Montbéliard (4-1).

The team with the most goals in the Final (21 goals), PSG scored an average of 2.33 goals per Coupe de la Ligue BKT (nine games).

Paris Saint-Germain are the only club to have won the Coupe de la Ligue BKT five times in succession (from 2014 to 2018).

In 2017, against AS Monaco, Julian Draxler (PSG) matched the performance of Cavani (PSG) in 2014 with PSG's fastest goal in the Final, scoring in the fourth minute. A performance that remains behind Wendel (Girondins de Bordeaux), who scored in the third minute in 2009.

Since 1995, the opening goal of a Coupe de la Ligue BKT Final has been scored on average in the 37th minute of play.

The last 14 Finals with at least one goal scored have been won by the team that opened the scoring. In the history of the competition, 91% of the teams that opened the scoring went on to win: only PSG (1998) and FC Sochaux-Montbéliard (2004) managed to clinch victory after conceding the first goal.

Since the competition's inauguration in 1995, seven of the 25 Finals have gone into extra time: the last time was a year ago (RCSA-EAG). And 12 of the last 14 Finals have been decided in regulation time.

16 of the 25 Coupe de la Ligue BKT Finals have been won either by a single goal (11, including two in overtime) or on penalties (five).

While three of the first four Finals used penalties, this was the case for only 2 of the 21 following Finals (2004, FCSM-FC Nantes and 2019 RCSA-EAG).

RC Strasbourg Alsace (three titles) are, along with OM (three titles), the only club to boast a 100% winning record in the Final (among the clubs with at least two appearances in the Final).

Edinson Cavani (PSG) is the top scorer in the history of the Coupe de la Ligue BKT Finals. The Uruguayan has scored in five different Finals with a total of eight goals scored (four doubles). He is ahead of Rai (1995 and 1998), Pedro Miguel Pauleta (2002 and 2008) and Brandao (2012 and 2013) - all of who have scored in two Coupe de la Ligue BKT Finals.

Of the eight doubles scored in Coupe de la Ligue BKT Finals, six were struck by Parisians (Cavani four times, Pauleta and Ibrahimovic), one by a Monegasque (Giuly, 2003) and one by a Girondin (Pauleta).

Pedro Miguel Pauleta (Final 2002: FC Lorient 0-3 Girondins de Bordeaux) and Edinson Cavani (Final 2018: Paris SG 3-0 AS Monaco) are the only players who scored in each half of the same Coupe de la Ligue BKT Final.