Les Bleus

Les Bleus: And then there were 25...

Les Bleus: And then there were 25...

Les Bleus
Publish on 11/21 at 11:00


Following the announcement that France's Real Madrid superstar Karim Benzema will miss the World Cup with a thigh injury, coach Didier Deschamps has announced a commensurately diminished 25-man list for the World Cup in Qatar.

After the withdrawal of Karim Benzema, who will not be replaced, Didier Deschamps will take a 25-man group to the  World Cup. On Wednesday, Randal Kolo Muani joined the group to replace the injured Christopher Nkunku.

Last Wednesday, Deschamps unveiled the long-awaited list of 25 players called up for the World Cup in Qatar, but was forced to make two changes on Monday: former Sochaux and Guingamp striker Marcus Thuram (four caps) came in as a precautionary 26th man and Paris Saint-Germain's Presnel Kimpembe, insufficiently recovered from his Achilles tendon injury, was replaced by Axel Disasi of AS Monaco.
Six Ligue 1 Uber Eats players called up

Six Ligue 1 Uber Eats players will have the honour of wearing the French shirt in this 22nd edition of the World Cup, led by Kylian Mbappé. The current top scorer in the league with 12 goals in 15 games, the PSG star striker will want to shine for his second World Cup campaign.

Didier Deschamps' latest guest, Axel Disasi, will represent AS Monaco, as will Youssouf Fofana, while Mattéo Guendouzi and Jordan Veretout (Olympique de Marseille) will also feature in midfield. Steve Mandanda (Stade Rennais), 37, will be participating in his third World Cup, after those of 2010 and 2018.

The reigning world champions will start their competition on Tuesday 22 November against Australia. In Group D, they will then face Denmark (Saturday 26 November) and Tunisia (Wednesday 30 November).
France's 2022 World Cup squad:

Alphonse Areola (West Ham, ENG), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham, ENG) and Steve Mandanda (Stade Rennais FC)

Lucas Hernandez (Bayern Munich, GER), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan, ITA), Presnel Kimpembe (Paris Saint-Germain) replaced by Axel Disasi (AS Monaco), Ibrahima Konate (Liverpool, ENG), Jules Koundé (Barcelona, ESP), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich, GER), William Saliba (Arsenal, ENG), Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich, GER) and Raphael Varane (Manchester United, ENG)

Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid, ESP), Youssouf Fofana (AS Monaco), Mattéo Guendouzi (Olympique de Marseille), Adrien Rabiot (Juventus, ITA), Aurélien Tchouaméni (Real Madrid, ESP) and Jordan Veretout (Olympique de Marseille)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, ESP) withdrawn and not replaced, Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich, GER), Ousmane Dembélé (Barcelona, ESP), Olivier Giroud (AC Milan, ITA), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid, ESP), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain), Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig, GER) replaced by Randal Kolo Muani (Frankfurt, GER), and Marcus Thuram (Mönchengladbach, GER)