Ismaïla Sarr (Marseille)

AFCON Preview: Group C

AFCON Preview: Group C

Publish on 01/11 at 17:30 - P. MEEHAN


With the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations set to begin and dozens of Ligue 1 players selected to represent their countries in Côte d’Ivoire, we start previewing the groups in the tournament. Today’s feature focuses on Group C.


Les Lions Indomptables enter AFCON with an big history in the competition, having won the title five times. Despite their past glories, recent challenges have cast a shadow over the team. Coach Rigobert Song faces skepticism following a shaky performance in AFCON qualifiers. The Ligue 1 contingent includes Simon Ngapandouetnbu (Olympique de Marseille), Jean-Charles Castelletto (FC Nantes), Christopher Wooh (Stade Rennais), Enzo Tchato (Montpellier HSC), Darlin Yongwa (FC Lorient), François-Régis Mughe (Olympique de Marseille), and Frank Magri (Toulouse FC).


Guided by Belgian manager Tom Saintfet since his appointment in 2018, Gambia are on a promising path. Demonstrating their potential, the Scorpions reached the quarterfinals in the 2021 AFCON. A noteworthy player to highlight is Ablie Jallow, currently playing for FC Metz in Ligue 1, as he holds the potential to play a crucial role in the team's attack.


The Syli National presents a blend of potential and inconsistency as they enter the AFCON under the guidance of French-born manager Kaba Diawara. The team showcases a diverse squad with talent coming from both Europe-born players and the local league and academy system. Guinea brings a big group of Ligue 1 players, including Saïdou Sow (RC Strasbourg), Ibrahim Diakité (Stade de Reims), Issiaga Sylla (Montpellier HSC), Abdoulaye Touré (Le Havre AC), Morgan Guilavogui (RC Lens), Mohamed Bayo (Le Havre AC).


The Lions of Teranga enter AFCON looking to defend their title in Ivory Coast. Defending an AFCON title is no easy task and Senegal aims to replicate what Egypt did in 2006-2010. Lamine Camara, from FC Metz, is one of Senegal’s emerging stars. Other Ligue 1 players include Mory Diaw (Clermont Foot 63), Formose Mendy (FC Lorient), Ismail Jakobs (AS Monaco), Pape Gueye (Olympique de Marseille), Nampalys Mendy (RC Lens), Krépin Diatta (AS Monaco), Iliman Ndiaye (Olympique de Marseille), Ismaïla Sarr (Olympique de Marseille).

Top videos