Tough tests for PSG and Rennes

UEFA Europa League

Paris Saint-Germain and Rennes have both been drawn in testing sections containing Spanish clubs for the group stage of the Europa League.

PSG, who beat Differdange of Luxembourg 6-0 in the play-offs, were top seeds for the draw in Monaco and were placed in Group F alongside Athletic Bilbao, Slovan Bratislava and Red Bull Salzburg.

PSG also faced Spanish opposition last season when they emerged from a group containing Sevilla before being knocked out at the Round of 16 stage by Benfica. Athletic Bilbao finished fifth in La Liga last season, while Slovan Bratislava beat Serie A club Roma to book their spot in the group stage.

Rennes are third seeds in a Group I headed by 2010 champions Atletico Madrid, who have just signed  Falcao, the man who scored the winner in last season's final, from Porto. Udinese, who dropped into the competition after being beaten by Arsenal in the Champions League play-offs, and Sion of Switzerland complete the group.

Sion beat Scottish outfit Celtic in the play-offs but the Glasgow club have launched an appeal to UEFA about Sion's participation. Coached by former Saint-Etienne boss Laurent Roussey, Sion are currently operating under a transfer ban.

Rennes beat Red Star Belgrade 6-1 on aggregate to reach the group stage. The first round of matches will take place on September 15.

>> MATCH REPORTS: French clubs in the Europa League

>> REACTIONS: Europa League Play-offs second leg

Full draw for the 2011-2012 UEFA Europa League group stage

Group A
Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
FC Rubin Kazan (RUS)
Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL)

Group B
FC København (DEN)
R. Standard de Liège (BEL)
Hannover 96 (GER)
FC Vorskla Poltava (UKR)

Group C
PSV Eindhoven (NED)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
FC Rapid Bucureşti (ROU)
Legia Warszawa (POL)

Group D
Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
S.S. Lazio (ITA)
FC Zürich (SUI)
FC Vaslui (ROU)

Group E
FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
Beşiktaş JK (TUR)
Stoke City FC (ENG)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)

Group F
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)
Athletic Club (ESP)
FC Salzburg (AUT)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)

Group G
AZ Alkmaar (NED)
FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR)
FK Austria Wien (AUT)
Malmö FF (SWE)

Group H
SC Braga (POR)
Club Brugge KV (BEL)
Birmingham City FC (ENG)
NK Maribor (SVN)

Group I
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP)
Udinese Calcio (ITA)
Stade Rennais FC (FRA)
FC Sion (SUI)

Group J
FC Schalke 04 (GER)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)
Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)
AEK Larnaca FC (CYP)

Group K
FC Twente (NED)
Fulham FC (ENG)
Odense BK (DEN)
Wisła Kraków (POL)

Group L
RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
AEK Athens FC (GRE)
FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)
SK Sturm Graz (AUT)

Your email has been successfully sent