The League Cup Trophy

Coupe de la Ligue BKT


In the autumn of 2002, LFP president Frédéric Thiriez declared that his organisation was replacing the League Cup trophy with a new and more modern version. The result was a stunning piece of work from Franco-Argentine artist, Pablo Reinoso.

As part of a modernisation process in late 2002, the LFP said that they would also be replacing the Ligue 1 championship trophy. To find suitable ideas for the two new domestic prizes, the LFP launched a design competition headed by a group of judges made up of journalists, famous football figures and artists. A guide was given to the number of designers who entered which asked for 'a symbol of the beauty and being that exists between football and art'.

Pauleta, then of Bordeaux,with
the 2001/02 League Cup trophy

In early 2003, the competition's winners were announced. Andrée Putman's design for the new Ligue 1 trophy was selected as one of the winners along with Pablo Reinoso's spectacular League Cup offering (below).

A symbol of victory and modernisation

Constructed using methacrylate, the new League Cup trophy took the form of a spiral which, according to Reinoso, 'symbolised the walk upwards towards victory and modernisation.' On May 17, 2003 Monaco, following their 4-1 win over Sochaux, received the new trophy for the first time. Each player also received, a tradition which carries on today, a miniature version.

Classic Images

Ten different teams have won the League Cup since the competition's conception in 1994. Here we've picked an image from each final which shows the delight of the players and what it means to them to pick up the season's first trophy.

05/06 - Nancy

04/05 - Strasbourg

03/04 - Sochaux

02/03 - Monaco

01/02 - Bordeaux

00/01 - Lyon

99/00 - Gueugnon

98/99 - Lens

97/98 - PSG

96/97 - Strasbourg

95/96 - Metz

94/95 - PSG

Your email has been successfully sent