End of year award nominees announced

Ligue 1 Conforama > News

The nominees for the 2011/12 player and coach of the year have been announced, with last year's winners Eden Hazard and Rudi Garcia both in contention again.


The National Union of Professional Footballers (UNFP) have announced a shortlist of four for the player of the year award, with Lille star Hazard facing some tough competition if he is to win the prize for the second season in succession. Alongside the 21-year-old in the running are Montpellier duo Olivier Giroud and Younès Belhanda as well as Paris Saint-Germain's Nenê.

René Girard will be seen as the favourite by many for the coach of the year award having taken Montpellier to the top of the Ligue 1 table in a record-breaking season for the southern club. Joining the 57-year-old on the shortlist are Lille's Garcia and Olivier Pantaloni, who has done well to make Ajaccio competitive on the smallest budget in the top flight.

The fourth man nominated is Antoine Kombouaré, who has been recognised for his achievement in taking Paris Saint-Germain to the top of the Ligue 1 table at the winter break. Kombouaré left PSG in December, to be replaced by Carlo Ancelotti. The award winners will be announced at a ceremony on May 14.

>> Ligue 1 table

Your email has been successfully sent