Ibrahimovic named Player of the Year

Ligue 1 Conforama > News

Zlatan Ibrahimovic was named the Ligue 1 Player of the Year on Sunday, taking the award for the third time in four seasons.

Ibrahimovic beat off competition from Paris Saint-Germain team-mate Ángel Di María, Hatem Ben Arfa of OGC Nice and Lassana Diarra of Olympique de Marseille to reclaim the prize, with the trophy being handed to him by Dutch legend Edgar Davids at the UNFP awards ceremony in Paris.

The 34-year-old Swedish striker won the award in each of his first two seasons in Ligue 1 before seeing Lyon's Alexandre Lacazette succeed him last season. However, Ibrahimovic has enjoyed arguably the best season of his career, with 35 Ligue 1 goals and 45 in all competitions to his name so far.

Among the other prizes, Ousmane Dembélé of Stade Rennais FC was named Young Player of the Year, beating Vincent Koziello of Nice, Thomas Lemar of AS Monaco and Adrien Rabiot of Paris Saint-Germain.

The winners in full

Ligue 1 Player of the Year - Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)
Ligue 1 Young Player of the Year - Ousmane Dembélé (Rennes)
Ligue 1 Goal of the Season - Pierrick Capelle (Angers SCO v EA Guingamp)
Ligue 1 Coach of the Year - Laurent Blanc (Paris Saint-Germain)
Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year - Steve Mandanda (Marseille)
Ligue 2 Player of the Year - Famara Dhiedhiou (Clermont)
Ligue 2 'Keeper of the Year - Baptiste Reynet (Dijon)
Ligue 2 Coach of the Year - Olivier Dall'Oglio (Dijon)


Your email has been successfully sent