Ibrahimovic takes Player of Year gong

Ligue 1 Conforama > News

Zlatan Ibrahimovic was named Ligue 1's Player of the Year on Sunday while Paris Saint-Germain dominated the awards with seven of the champions' squad in the Team of the Year.

Ibrahimovic's two goals against Stade Brestois 29 on Saturday took the Swedish international striker's league-high tally to 29, just one short of Jean-Pierre Papin's total for Olympique de Marseille from the 1989-90 campaign which has hitherto been unrivalled.

"It's been a difficult season. As we were favourites, everyone wanted to beat us, but we've ended up winning. My best memory in Paris will be to have won the title with a club that had been waiting for it for 19 years. So I've done something with PSG and I'm very proud of that, especially as I didn't know much about French football. Thanks to the whole city of Paris. This award is for everyone."

Ibrahimovic's team-mate, Salvatore Sirigu, was named the French top-flight's best goalkeeper in a vote by the National Union of Professional Footballers (UNFP) while coach Carlo Ancelotti shared the Best Coach award with AS Saint-Etienne's Christophe Galtier, who ended his club's three-decade wait for silverware by winning the Coupe de la Ligue.

"If you'd have told me at the start of the season that we would win a first trophy in 32 years, I would have said: 'It'll be tough'," said Galtier. "We did it, and took Les Verts nation to the Stade de France. We can still finish third. It's extraordinary. And on top of all that, to have won this trophy, I'm delighted. The fact I'm sharing it with Ancelotti is an amazing feeling for me."

SC Bastia's Florian Thauvin was named Young Player of the Year, while Saber Khlifa's strike from inside his own half in Evian-Thonon-Gaillard FC's Week 36 victory over OGC Nice was named Goal of the Year.

While Galtier's top scorer, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, found his way into the Team of the Year, PSG made up the majority of the XI.

UNFP Team of the Year: Sirigu (PSG); Jallet (PSG), Thiago Silva (PSG), Nkoulou (Marseille), Maxwell (PSG); Payet (LOSC Lille), Verratti (PSG), Matuidi (PSG), Valbuena (Marseille); Ibrahimovic (PSG), Aubameyang (Saint-Etienne)


Your email has been successfully sent