PSG dominate UNFP award nominations

Ligue 1 Conforama > News

With Paris Saint-Germain's 19 year wait for a Ligue 1 title nearly over, the capital club dominated nominations for this year's UNFP awards with six players in the four individual top flight categories.

The nominations for this year's UNFP awards have been announced, with Paris Saint-Germain unsurprisingly dominating with six Ligue 1 nominations - three more than the next most well-represented side, AS Saint-Etienne. The awards will be given on 19 May, with prizes available for the best player, young player, goalkeeper and coach from the top flight, alongside awards in Ligue 2 and the Division 1 Féminine.

With PSG hurtling towards a first Ligue 1 title since 1994, the capital club have three players out of four in the running for the most prestigious award - the Ligue 1 Player of the Year. Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who has scored a league-leading 27 goals already this season, is the favourite to succeed former LOSC Lille midfielder Eden Hazard. The Swedish striker is joined by combative midfielder Blaise Matuidi and captain Thiago Silva. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang completes the nominees after helping ASSE to the brink of European qualification for next season with 19 goals.

Carlo Ancelotti is likely to pick up the managerial gong with PSG's 19-year league title drought almost certain to come to an end this weekend, though the Italian tactician has competition from Christophe Galtier, who has overseen Saint-Etienne's undefeated start to 2013 in the league and also won the Coupe de la Ligue.

Younès Belhanda could be succeeded as young player of the year by Montpellier-Hérault SC teammate Rémy Cabella, though Marco Verratti will be hopeful of winning the award after a breakthrough season in the heart of the PSG midfield.

Salvatore Sirigu has not been as busy as other goalkeepers this season, with the capital club conceding just 21 goals this campaign, and isless likely than some of his teammates to pick up the individual honour.

Full list of nominees:

Ligue 1 Player of the Year:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint-Etienne)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)

Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain)

Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain)


Young Player of the Year:

Rémy Cabella (Montpellier)

Lucas Digne (LOSC Lille)

Florian Thauvin (SC Bastia, on loan from Lille)

Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain)


Goalkeeper of the Year:

Mickael Landreau (Bastia)

Steve Mandanda (Olympique Marseille)

Stéphane Ruffier (Saint-Etienne)

Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain)


Coach of the Year:

Carlo Ancelotti (Paris Saint-Germain)

Elie Baup (Marseille)

Christophe Galtier (Saint Etienne)

Claude Puel (OGC Nice)

Your email has been successfully sent