Hexagoal Ligue 1 Trophy

Champions League: How it looks for French clubs

Publish on 14/06/2018 at 00:00 - S. WILLIS


The draw, the calendar and the seeding… here's what we know ahead of the draw for the 2018-19 UEFA Champions League, in which Paris Saint-Germain, AS Monaco and Olympique Lyonnais will all take part.

UEFA has introduced a number of small changes for the 2018-19 edition of the Champions League, and here's what we know about what the three Ligue 1 Conforama clubs can expect on Europe's biggest club stage in the season to come.

The group-stage draw will be held in Monaco on August 30, 2018, at 18:00 CET. Of the 32 clubs who will take part in the competition, 26 are already qualified, and the six remaining clubs will be determined via play-offs on August 21 and 22 (first legs) and August 28 and 29 (return legs).

Paris Saint-Germain in Pot 1, OL and Monaco likely Pot 3

Ligue 1 Conforama champions in 2017-18, Paris Saint-Germain will be drawn from Pot 1, which comprises six clubs who won their respective national championships, plus 2017-18 Champions League winners Real Madrid and 2017-18 Europa League winners Atlético Madrid.

The composition of the three other eight-team pots will only be announced after the end of the play-offs in August. Pot attribution is determined as a function of each club's UEFA coefficient (reckoned on that club's European results over the last five seasons).

The two other French club in the competition, AS Monaco and Olympique Lyonnais, will most likely be drawn from Pot 3, but cannot be drawn in the same group due to an injunction against clubs from the same league facing off at that early stage of the competition.

KEY DATES: UEFA Champions League 2018-19

September 18-19: Matchday 1
October 2-3: Matchday 2
October 23-24: Matchday
November 6-7: Matchday 4
November 27-28: Matchday 5
December 11-12: Matchday 6
December 17: Round of 16 draw
February 12-13 and 19-20: Round of 16 first legs
March 5-6 and 12-13: Round of 16 second legs
March 15: Quarter-final draw
April 9-10: Quarter-final first legs
April 16-17: Quarter-finals second legs
April 19: Semi-final draw
April 30 - May 1: Semi-final first legs
May 7-8: Semi-final second legs
June 1: Final (Estadio Metropolitano, Madrid)


More popular contents
No popular contents.