Hexagoal Ligue 1 Trophy

Mbappé wins awards double

Mbappé wins awards double

Publish on 05/19 at 00:00 - S. WILLIS


Kylian Mbappé made history on Sunday by becoming the first player to be named the player of the season and young player of the season in the same year at the Trophées UNFP awards ceremony in Paris.

The 20-year-old World Cup winner took the young player of the year prize for the third year running and followed that up by succeeding his Paris Saint-Germain team-mate - and last year's winner - Neymar Jr. as winner of the prestigious main prize, voted for by his fellow professionals in the players' union, the UNFP.

It is the fourth year running in which a PSG player has won the award, with Mbappé pipping his club colleagues Neymar and Ángel Di María as well as LOSC star Nicolas Pépé and Hatem Ben Arfa of Stade Rennais FC to take the prize. Mbappé has scored 32 goals in 28 Ligue 1 Conforama appearances this season and has been the driving force in PSG's romp to a second consecutive title.

'Turning point'

"It is the one trophy I was missing," Mbappé joked as he received his prize at the ceremony at the Pavillon d'Armenonville in the capital. "I have experienced lots of things, lots of different emotions. Of course there have been a lot of disappointments this season, but that is part of football."

He then added: "This is a very important moment for me. I am at a turning point in my career. I have discovered so many things here, and I feel that maybe it is the time to take on more responsibility. Maybe at Paris Saint-Germain - with pleasure - or in a new project elsewhere."

Christophe Galtier won the coach of the year gong

Galtier coach of year

Mbappé was also named in the Ligue 1 Conforama team of the season alongside five of his PSG teammates - Neymar, Marquinhos, Thiago Silva, Marco Verratti and Di María. However, there was recognition for runners-up Lille too, as Christophe Galtier was named coach of the year, Mike Maignan was named goalkeeper of the year, and both Maignan and Pépé were named in the team of the season.

Elsewhere, Gaëtan Charbonnier won the Domino's Ligue 2 player of the year prize after top-scoring with 27 goals to help Stade Brestois 29 to promotion. Fresh from winning a fourth consecutive women's UEFA Champions League with Olympique Lyonnais on Saturday, German star Dzsenifer Marozsan won the women's player of the year for the third season in a row.


Ligue 1 Conforama player of the year: Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain)

Best goalkeeper: Mike Maignan (LOSC)

Best young player: Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain)

Goal of the season: Loïc Rémy (LOSC)

Team of the season: Mike Maignan (LOSC); Kenny Lala (Strasbourg), Marquinhos (Paris SG), Thiago Silva (Paris SG), Ferland Mendy (Lyon); Marco Verratti (Paris SG), Tanguy Ndombele (Lyon), Angel Di Maria (Paris SG); Kylian Mbappé (Paris SG), Nicolas Pépé (LOSC), Neymar Jr (Paris SG)

Coach of the year: Christophe Galtier (LOSC)

Domino's Ligue 2 player of the year: Gaëtan Charbonnier (Stade Brestois 29)

Ligue 2 goalkeeper of the year: Vincent Demarconnay (Paris FC)

Ligue 2 goal of the season: Wilfried Moimbé (AS Nancy-Lorraine)

Ligue 2 team of the season: Vincent Demarconnay (Paris FC); Fabien Centonze (RC Lens), John Boye (FC Metz), Stoppila Sunzu (FC Metz), Thomas Delaine (FC Metz); Renaud Cohade (FC Metz), Farid Boulaya (FC Metz), Alexis Claude Maurice (FC Lorient); Habib Diallo (FC Metz), Gaëtan Charbonnier (Stade Brestois), Opa Nguette (FC Metz)

Ligue 2 coach of the year: Pascal Gastien (Clermont)

Women's player of the year: Dzsenifer Marozsan (Olympique Lyonnais)

Women's young player of the year: Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain)

Best French player abroad: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Ligue 1 referee of the year: Clément Turpin

UNFP Trophy of Honour: Didier Drogba